Deactivate Facebook
When you deactivate your Facebook account, all information associated with it disappears from Facebook immediately. People on Facebook will not be able to search for you or view any of your information you have on your timeline.
Click the link Deactivate Facebook to directly take you to the step 4 and avoid the first 3 steps shown below or you carry on with all the steps as explained below:-
On Desktop/ Laptop
1.Top-right corner of the page, click the Settings Gear image and then select Account Settings from the drop-down menu.
2.The Account Settings page will appear. Locate and select Security in the Navigation pane on the left hand side.
3.Click Deactivate your account link located below on the right hand side.
4.Select your reason for deactivating the account. Since, my deactivation is temporary, you can select the option which says “This is temporary. I’ll be back.”
5.Click Confirm.
6.It will ask for your Facebook password and then click Deactivate Now.
7.Finally, you will need to complete a security check (also known as a CAPTCHA code). Type the text you see in the image, then click Submit. Hint – if two words are shown put a space between two words.
8.Your account is now deactivated. Once you complete your break period you can login to your Facebook account using your login details and your timeline will be restored in its entirety (friends, photos, interests, etc.).
To deactivate your Facebook account from a smartphone:
1.Tap top-left menu
2.Scroll to the bottom of the menu
3.Tap Account Settings > General
4.Tap Deactivate (in the bottom right)